Do Your Own Divorce In Orange County, California.
Assuming you and your spouse can agree on some key areas, you may be able to save money on legal fees and handle your own divorce. The Superior Court of Orange County, California provides all of the required documents and an instruction packet that explains the divorce proceeding.
You and your spouse are properly suited for do it yourself (“DIY”) divorce if the both of you:
1. Have been married for less than 5 years;
2. Agree about how to divide possessions and debts;
3. Do not have children together;
4. Possess less than $ 36,000.00 in property together;
5. Owe less than $ 6,000 (six thousand dollars) together.
If you answer yes to all of these, a DIY divorce may be a fantastic option. The packet of forms for your DIY divorce provided by the Orange County, California Superior Court can be found at http://www.occourts.org/scripts/formsearch.pl?PacketNum=L012.
Do not forget to read the Orange County Superior Court’s disclaimer: Packets have been developed which meet filing needs in most circumstances. There may be some circumstances when additional forms (not included in the packet) will be required by the court.
If you answered no to some of the questions above, it’s time to retain a qualified Orange County, California divorce lawyer. You will no doubt have questions and may indeed require representation. For a free consultation please visit us at www.oc-familylawyers.com to schedule an appointment.